Lead with AI research

AI Strategy Index

How the largest companies in the US and Europe approach AI. Every profile answers the same four questions from public sources, so you can compare one company's strategy with another's.

Where are we going?

The AI ambition, in leaders' own words.

Where will we focus?

The priorities: products, customers, operations or people.

What will it take?

Owners, investment, partners, skills and AI fluency.

How will we know it's working?

The results and measures the company reports.

United States

Compare by Sector

We looked at how each company compares with others in its sector. Here is how they stack up. Each company name links to its full profile.

Financial Services

CompanyDisclosureAI ownerFluency floorGovernanceAI value reportedRevenue per employee
Allianz3 of 4No named AI owner; board COO covers ITLevel 1, by participationEight principles and a register of every use caseResults by use case, no total$1.35M
Bank of America4 of 4CTIO; no Chief AI OfficerNot disclosedControls, no published principlesYes: $250M to $300M in 2026, with a 2027 figure$531k
BBVA4 of 4AI Transformation area at the top of the bankLevel 1, training required before accessEight published principlesResults by process and agent$328k
Goldman Sachs3 of 4CIO, sponsored by the top three executivesNone declaredFirmwide AI risk committeeNo: weekly use only$1.23M
JPMorgan Chase4 of 4Chief Data and Analytics Officer, passing to the CTONone declared (use is opt-in)Little publishedEarlier savings estimate, no longer updated$573k
Klarna3 of 4CEONot disclosedNone publishedYes: savings and work done by AI$1.24M
Lloyds Banking Group4 of 4Chief Data and AI OfficerLevel 1, mandatory trainingResponsible AI team and frameworkYes: about £50M in 2025, £100M+ target$377k

Energy and Utilities

CompanyDisclosureAI ownerFluency floorGovernanceAI value reportedRevenue per employee
Chevron2 of 4Chief Data and Analytics OfficerNot publishedThin: no published principlesYes: more than $100M in 2026$4.39M
Iberdrola3 of 4Global AI Centre and IT divisionNot published; training open to allBoard policy, ISO/IEC 42001 certifiedNo: counts of projects and agents$1.10M
NextEra Energy3 of 4NextEra AnalyticsNot publishedNot describedYes: dollar savings and a target$1.58M
Shell2 of 4Global Head of AINot publishedNot describedNo: inside the wider cost program$3.14M
TotalEnergies3 of 4No single owner; OneTech buildsIn part: all staff to be trainedIn part: agent review committeeResults by use case, no total$1.98M

Pharma

CompanyDisclosureAI ownerFluency floorGovernanceAI value reportedRevenue per employee
Eli Lilly3 of 4Chief AI OfficerLevel 1, by expectationEight principles, board briefingsNo: capacity and deals$1.30M
Moderna2 of 4Chief People and Digital Technology OfficerLevel 1, by expectationMentioned, not describedNo: adoption figures$414k
Novartis2 of 4CIO; no Chief AI OfficerRole-based paths, no company-wide floorPublished, a standing board topicLinked to lower costs, no figure$725k
Pfizer3 of 4Chief AI, Data and Analytics OfficerLevel 1, 98% trainedThree principles, a board risk topicInside wider cost programs$834k
Sanofi4 of 4Chief Digital OfficerLevel 1, about 80% useRAISE framework, five pillarsResults by use case, no total$644k

Retail and Consumer Goods

CompanyDisclosureAI ownerFluency floorGovernanceAI value reportedRevenue per employee
L’Oréal4 of 4Executive for AI, data and shared servicesLevel 1 in practice, about 73,000 trainedPrinciples stated in one lineResults by use case, no total$510k
Starbucks2 of 4COO, for the store rolloutNot disclosedA design rule, no frameworkPilot results only$98k
Target3 of 4Chief AI Officer (from August 2026)Not disclosedNot publishedResults by feature$252k
Unilever4 of 4No single ownerNot disclosed; 23,000+ trainedEvery AI use reviewed, a named owner accountableResults by use case, no total$571k
Walmart4 of 4EVP of AI accelerationNot disclosedPublished Responsible AI PledgeProduct figures, no dollar value$340k

Disclosure counts how many of the four strategy questions (where it is going, where it will focus, what it will take and how it will know it is working) a company answers in public. Fluency floor is the lowest level of AI fluency a company expects of all its people, on the five levels of the Lead with AI Fluency Matrix: Avoiding (0), Chatting (1), Collaborating (2), Integrating (3) and Transforming (4). The other columns summarize each company’s profile. Revenue per employee is for each company’s latest fiscal year, in US dollars. Groups appear once at least three companies in a sector have published profiles.

How the index works

The index starts with the S&P 100 and the STOXX Europe 50, two indexes of the largest companies in the US and Europe. A few other companies are profiled as featured case studies and are not counted. Profiles use public sources only, such as annual reports, earnings materials, filings and on-record interviews, and are dated at the time of writing.

Each profile notes where the company sets out its AI strategy: in a published AI strategy, as part of its corporate strategy, or inferred from public sources when there is no official statement. AI fluency is coded against the Lead with AI Fluency Matrix, and company figures are marked as company-claimed unless they have been independently verified.

Read about the AI Fluency Matrix